Reflecting & Moving Forward

As the end of the year draws near it’s natural to ask yourself what you could have done differently or what did you learn from 2013. People start throwing around their ideas of new years resolutions and inevitably we all break them sooner or later but I found this reflection and list of questions that everyone should reflect on and answer before the new year.

So here we go…

1. What am I most proud of this year?

I’m proud that I took the plunge. I was in a not so great situation with my job and the ball was in my court- it was time to make a move or deal with it. I made the move and I’m happy I did. I lost friends and gained friends in the process and through it all I’ve learned who was reallly there and who was there because it was easy.

208035_271902556263098_512152403_n

2. How can I become a better ____?

I can be a better friend and overall person by listening more and talking less. I tend to want to tell everyone what I know when that’s not important. Sometimes it is important to keep your mouth shut and listen. I want to switch it up and spend time with people I haven’t seen in a while or don’t see as much.

3. Where am I feeling stuck?

I’m stuck in what I expect over the next five years for my career. I am not doing what I went to college for but I love the company I work for enough that I can let that go. It’s just finding a place within this company that  will make me happy and drive me to succeed. I can see a glimmer of what I want to do within the company, it’s just hard to back off of the event planning train when it was my first love.

4. Where do I need to allow myself grace?

See response above. Yes, it would be nice to have a job where I’m using my degree but I’m also 23 years old and not sure what I REALLY want to be doing. I don’t need to stress about this each and every day. Life will happen and I need to take a step back and let it happen.

5. Am I passionate about my career?

My dream job would involve traveling, blogging, and planning events. Unless I am the event planner on a cruise ship and blog on the side I don’t think thats a realistic dream. For now- the verdict is out.

6. What lessons have I learned this year?

If you have to work REALLY hard every day at a relationship it’s just not worth it, sometimes it’s better to be kind than to be right, judging a book by its cover is never fair, you can’t make everyone like you, some people will do anything for you and not expect a thing in return- those people are hard to come by so treat them like gold.

7.  What did my finances look like?

I earned, I spent and I saved. 2014 is all about saving.

8. How did I spend my free time?

I spent my free time with friends, exploring Baltimore, trying new foods and testing out new recipes. My roommates love when I test recipes for the blog

photo 5

9. How well did I take care of my body, mind, & soul?

Running outside helps me take care of all three at once and I did not do that nearly enough. Nothing makes me feel alive like a run on a brisk morning. In 2014 I want to push my body and mind to the limits.

photo 2

10. How have I been open-minded?

I have been open-minded about food. This time a year ago I had never eaten quail, sushi, guacamole, and some seafood. Steve’s Dad said it best, “these are things Americans eat everyday, there’s nothing to be scared of.”

photo 1

11. When did I feel most creatively inspired?

Honestly, when I was traveling for RSP and visiting new cities each week I was so inspired. Inspired to write new blog posts, inspired to take more photos and document each new place, inspired to grow my jewelry business, and inspired to make life goals for myself. Traveling keeps me feeling happy and loving life. I need to make a point to travel at least once each month.

photo 4

12. What projects have I completed?

I’ve crossed some new recipes off of my To Try list and I’ve made some pinterest projects. I think I was most excited about my window pane jewelry hanger that my Dad and I made last spring.

photo (1)

13. How have I procrastinated?

There are so many things on my To-Do list that never move off of it. One is switching from wordpress.com to wordpress.org but that will happen during January, fingers crossed!

14. In what ways can I re-structure my time?

I really feel like I am good with my time. When things need to be done, I can’t sit around and play until I know they are accomplished. This usually means I do fifteen things at once. Laundry will be going while the dishwasher is running and food is in the oven.

15. How have I allowed fear of failure to hold me back?

I’ve let fear of failure hold me back from really putting in the effort with my jewelry. I have a name for the business, a logo, an Etsy store and all the pieces I’ve made so far..so what is stopping me? The fear of it becoming a burden and me not enjoying it. The fear of putting pieces on the store and nothing selling. The fear of losing money.

16. Where has self-doubt taken over?

See response above.

17. When have I felt most alive?

In 2013 I felt most alive when I was in the middle of ending one relationship in January and starting a new one in September. Breaking up with someone is the most vulnerable state that I’ve ever been in. Questioning what went wrong and why is difficult. In the end I became stronger as a result and threw myself into a ton of new activities. Meeting new people, making new connections and learning new lessons was what single life had in store for me. But then I met someone who changed my mindset and threw me for a loop. I was happy being single but there was something about the butterflies in my stomach that told me to make myself vulnerable once again. To put myself out there, all of me, and either be accepted or rejected. Luckily he accepted me for the person I am and I couldn’t be happier with life at this moment. 

18. How have I taught others to respect me?

I think you get the respect you earn and I try to respect those around me as best I can. I look up to my friends, family members and co-workers for so many reasons and would hope that they feel the same way. 

19. How can I improve my relationships?

Its easy- making the effort. Too often I get anxious and nervous about driving to an unknown place to meet up or flying by myself to visit family. I will lose those relationships if I don’t make more of an effort. So here’s to stepping out of my comfort zone and not making excuses. CHEERS. 

20. Have I been unfair to anyone?

Yes. I have been unfair to my friends this year. 

21. Who do I need to forgive?

I need to forgive myself. I’ve taken a lot personally this year and wondered too often what I did wrong or how I could have changed a scenario. It’s good to question how we affected a situation but it’s not healthy to blame oneself. It takes two people to make a relationship/friendship/work relationship work. 

22. Where is it time to let go?

It’s time to let go of expectations. Expectations that I’ll have babies by the time I’m 30. Expectations that I’ll have the perfect career. Expectations that people will realize they are wrong and fix the problem. It’s time to go with the flow, be happy, and live the life that I am only going to live once. It’s good to have goals and I have them, but making calculated decisions hoping that my “life timeline” will line up…yeah that’s been put on hold. I spent college working six internships that eventually helped me land my dream job, but the pressure of those years is enough to make me want to relax over the next year and let life happen.

23. What old habits would I like to release?

Biting my nails, making excuses to not exercise, COPIOUS AMOUNTS OF CHOCOLATE CONSUMED

24. What new habits would I like to cultivate?

Exercising, running races, eating healthier, traveling more, spending more time with friends and family, and learning how to cook, bake, and DIY more than buying pre-made items. 

25. How can I be kind to myself?

Sometimes I need to be reminded that we are all human. We make mistakes, learn from them and grow. That’s more important than being right all the time. 

I hope everyone has a fun and SAFE New Year!

photo

One thought on “Reflecting & Moving Forward

  1. Listening more is always a good one! Rob always remembers me telling him to listen more and to talk less! “Ask questions about the person you are with, rather than talk about yourself!”

Leave a Reply

