Apple Cider Mini Muffin Recipe

photo

My Mom always used to tell me “Don’t make a recipe for the first time for a special occassion, test it out before then.” Well I didn’t do that. My parents and brother showed up for Thanksgiving in the city and I proceeded to tell them that I was making these for dessert and hadn’t made them yet. Fingers were crossed.

Wanna know the good news?
THEY TURNED OUT BETTER THAN I COULD HAVE EXPECTED! ANNNDDDD they were made with ingredients I already had in my kitchen. I had to buy allspice and apple cider but everything else I already had. I love recipes like that!

I found the perfect recipe but it was for real sized donuts and well I don’t exactly have a donut pan laying around so I opted for donut holes instead (think Dunkin Donuts Munchkins). At the last possible second I realized that putting little globs of batter on a baking sheet wasn’t going to make donut holes so I put the batter in a mini muffin pan and that is how the Apple Cider Donut recipe was morphed into Apple Cider Mini Muffins!

Donut Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 1/4 cup apple cider
  • 1 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

photo 2

Glaze Ingredients:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp apple cider

Cinnamon Sugar Topping Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a mini muffin pan and set aside

photo 5

In a small bowl combine all dry donut ingredients (flour, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, salt). In a different bowl combine the wet donut ingredients together and whisk until combined (apple cider, apple sauce, maple syrup, canola oil, vanilla extract). Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix until just combined

photo 4  photo 1 (1)

Spoon into muffin pan

photo 2 (1)

Bake for 5-7 minutes. The time will be different for everyone depending on how hot your oven is. I would recommend baking for at least 5 minutes and then testing the batter with a toothpick and continuing to bake for increments of one minute.

While baking whip up the glaze and cinnamon sugar topping. I left the muffins in the pan when applying the glaze to keep the messy factor down, but you can take them out as well.

photo 5 (1)

After drizzling the glaze you can sprinkle on the cinnamon sugar topping and wait about 15-20 minutes for the glaze to harden. Then ENJOY!

photo 3 (2)

2 thoughts on “Apple Cider Mini Muffin Recipe

  1. Oooh and your presentation of them is really nice too. I bet they were soooo good. I’ll have to keep this one in mind..! AND you proved your mama wrong…..!

  2. Pingback: Fall Bucket List Re-Cap | Soup of the Day

Leave a Reply

