Commuter Gear: Winter Edition

Is it winter already? I don’t know about everywhere else in the states but on the east coast it was FREEZING this week! We went from lovely fall temperatures to mornings where the high was in the 30’s!

 Why am I making a huge deal out of the freezing temperatures? Because I walk to work…

 I live in a bustling city and only have a 1 mile commute to work so it only makes sense to hoof it everyday and not sit in traffic for an hour just to go one mile to my house. I know I am making the conscious decision to walk to work  while my car is snuggled up in the garage at my house but I was not prepared for these temperatures!

 I spent the week scrounging around my room trying to find my cold winter gear just in time to learn that this weekend will be in the upper 60’s. Oh well- at least I found my hats and scarves!

 The weather got me thinking about the necessary gear for a winter commute. I still have a few things to buy in order to make walking to work bearable this winter, but here is the list of things I think are necessities:

coat
via

I am currently looking for a longer coat to wear this winter. I have a peacoat but its short and I find it is really awkward to wear with dresses and longer sweaters. I want a long, professional jacket that looks good with dresses and will keep me warm!

Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 1.43.53 PM
via

I love listening to music while I walk through the harbor to work. These ear muffs have built in headphones so I never have to adjust my ear buds again.

uahat
via

There are other days that I like to just enjoy the day and not mix Miley with the calm sunset I’m watching as I walk. On those days a soft and warm Under Armour beanie is the perfect option. UA’s headquarters is in Baltimore and happens to be one of my favorite brands.

Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 1.47.52 PM

via

Whether I’m changing the song or texting I don’t want to take my gloves off and risk my hands freezing off- texting gloves to the rescue! I’m not sure how I survived last winter without these but I have a pair already en route to my house for this season!

Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 1.50.09 PM
via

This is a personal preference but I never walk to work in my shoes for the day. Also, I don’t enjoy scrunching my work pants into tall uggs (I hate wrinkles) so I prefer my high top moccasin boots. I can slip them on, tuck my pant leg gently into the shoe and my feet stay warm on the walk.

scarfhm2
via

No winter outfit is complete without a cozy infinity scarf. My allllll time favorite scarf is from H&M and I may or may not wear it 4/5 days a week. I will be stocking up this year!

3 thoughts on “Commuter Gear: Winter Edition

  1. Too funny; as I was reading your post- I got a message from you, commenting on my blog! I’m so glad you can comment too now!
    I love that jacket and the toque! The headband with built in headphones is brilliant!

Leave a Reply

