the last words he wrote

thankful project title

Today I am thankful for….words.

10 years ago my best friend passed away. We were both  13 at the time. No child that young should have to say goodbye to their best friend. Today I am thankful for the letters Patrick had written me, one sentence in particular. One day I received a package with a note attached. Inside the package was his favorite stuffed animal, a black cat named Simba. The attached note read “I love you and Simba does too”. I had no idea that this would be the last letter he would send.

Every January I visit his gravesite to wish him a Happy Birthday. It could have been another year of him blowing out candles but instead a year of keeping the memories of him alive and remembering him every single day.

6 thoughts on “the last words he wrote

  1. This post gave me chills. I’m so sorry you lost your friend at such a young age, and that he passed away so young. It sounds like his time spent here wasn’t in waste, though, because he left such a lasting impact on you.

  2. Aw.. this gave me goosebumps and teary eyes. ‘Simba loves you too’…. How innocent and genuine.
    I can’t help but think of “My Girl” when I read this.. Losing your little buddy at such a young age. Thomas gave Vada a mood ring.. Your friend gave you a Simba.

    Thanks for sharing this one. Sending you cyber hugs of comfort.

Leave a Reply

