The Lesson In Failure

thankful project title

Today I am thankful for….a failure.

3card

I loved school growing up. I had straight A’s, was the teachers pet (have to admit it) and enjoyed every little project along the way. By the time I hit 6th grade I noticed that I actually had to try in math class. Up until that point I was barely putting in any effort and still getting good grades. This came as a shock but I started to try harder and worked for those good grades. 9th grade geometry was the bane of my existence. My teacher was awful and I would actually fear going to class everyday. Now looking back she could be compared to Miranda Priestly from The Devil Wears Prada. The slow, monotone sentences with a pause at just the right time to let you know she was PISSED. They were one and the same.

I started staying after school for extra help and went to Sylvan Learning Center for tutoring. When I was in school I didn’t tell anyone but my boyfriend where I was going every afternoon after school. I was embarrassed. Now looking back it was the best thing my parents could have done for me. I learned better with one on one instruction for the subjects that were more difficult. I made friends, had a quiet distraction free time to get my homework done and enjoyed the thirty minute car ride with my parents each day. I ended up passing Geometry with a B and was so proud of myself.

Every failure is really a lesson. We must learn from these lessons to make them worth it in the end.

5 thoughts on “The Lesson In Failure

  1. Hi Megan, I’m with the Sylvan Learning public relations team, and we really enjoyed your blog post. Thank you for sharing your story. We would like to share your post on Sylvan’s Facebook and Twitter pages. If this is OK with you, please let me know by sending me an email.
    Thanks, Beth

  2. I SO wish I had tried harder in high school. I dropped out of Math and Biology 30 (grade 12 levels) because I didn’t need them to graduate. So. Stupid. I made my grade 12 a breeze, but I regret it. I wish we could all have the chance to take grade 12 again five years after graduation.. just to see how much better we would do! (Of course, a lot of people do well and are 5 years into secondary school.. but for me, not the case.)
    I like your Miranda Priestly comparison.. paints the perfect picture. Yikes…!

  3. Love a happy ending to a story and glad that you realize now that there’s no reason to be shy about getting extra help. It may not have been “cool” in high school, but anyone who would make fun of you, would only realize later when they went to college that EVERYONE goes to tutoring, study sessions, office hours etc then!

Leave a Reply

