Revenge of the Sour Patch Kids

It’s Halloween! A holiday known for costumes, decorations and lots and lots of candy. I have a pretty serious sweet tooth. I love all things sugary and love Halloween for fufilling that craving. However, I stumbled upon this article and may never eat candy again. Here’s another part of the story that I left out- I get cavities easily. I never had a cavity until I turned 20 and since then I’ve gotten at least 3 filled a year. Apparently I have very deep grooves and regardless of the fact that I brush my teeth after every meal AND after eating anything sugary, I will continue to get cavities.  According to the article over $8 million will be spent this year on Halloween costumes, candy, and decorations. That’s at least a dozen sour patch kids lurking around every corner.

Here’s some more info!

candy corn 01
via

Each tiny little piece of candy corn has more than ONE GRAM of sugar in it.

dots.candy.091509
via
The gooey stickyness of each dot causes them to cling to your tooth enamel or in my case, bury their sugary selves into my grooves. Also RED 40 (which I am allergic to) is being investigated as a carcinogen.

now
via
I cannot pass up a Now&Later at the gas station especially when they are $0.05 each! Again, they will linger foreverrrrrrr and cause me to need a dental visit asap.

necco
via
I can’t tell you how many times I would visit my Aunt and she would have these waiting for me. Apparently one roll has more than your daily allotment of sugar. WHOA.

skittles
via
Anything sour (my beloved Sour Patch Kids) is really bad on your tooth enamel. With a pH of 2.2 I would say they are awful for your teeth!

Someone hand me a stalk of broccoli please….

Check out these healthier options!

I’m also excited to announce that I will be participating in a new link up for the month of November. I really miss Blogtember and am excited to take part in The Thankful Project. It’s important to take a second and be thankful for the people and things around me.

thankful project title

2 thoughts on “Revenge of the Sour Patch Kids

  1. Oh no..! I don’t want to hear any of these stats today! But most of that candy I don’t eat.. except for the sour skittles and sour patch kids… Oh well, bring it on sugar.

Leave a Reply

