Comfort Food: Pasta Fagioli Recipe

Image

What a perfect day to share my favorite soup recipe with you all. It is POURING and isn’t expected to stop until Monday at the earliest. On days like today all I want is a steaming bowl of soup and some fuzzy slippers.

This is one of my favorite recipes to make because it is SO SIMPLE. I don’t know what I would do without my crock pot. So dust yours off and enjoy!

Pasta Fagioli
*this recipe is for 12-15 servings. I have a 3 qt crock pot and typically use 1/2 of each ingredient listed below

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs of ground beef
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 2 (28 oz) cans of diced tomatoes- undrained
  • 1 (16oz) can of red kidney beans
  • 1 (16 oz) can of white kidney beans
  • 4 cups of beef stock
  • 1 (20 oz) jar of spaghetti sauce
  • 3 tsp oregano
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • 5 tsp parsley
  • 8 oz of pasta (I use ditali)

Steps:

  1. Brown beef- drain fat
  2. Add all ingredients except pasta into your crock pot
  3. Cook on high for 4 hours
  4. At the end of 4 hours, turn the crock pot to low and cook the pasta according to the directions on the box.
  5. Add pasta and let cook a little longer (I usually wait another 30 minutes)

Let me know how your soup turns out!

What did you do differently that I should try?

fall

5 thoughts on “Comfort Food: Pasta Fagioli Recipe

  1. Dropping by from the Fall Fancy Linkup! This soup looks like the perfect thing to have for dinner on a chilly fall day! YUM!

    ❤ Vicki
    wildeinthekitchen.blogspot.com

  2. Hello Soup! Thanks for linking up this great recipe at the Fall Fancy. I was browsing your other posts and loved seeing your list of 5 must reads. Great choices – all of which will now be added to my list of books to read. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Taking A Look Back at 2013 | Soup of the Day

Leave a Reply

