Baltimore Eats: Pub Dog & Liv2Eat

I am having so much fun trying new restaurants and blogging about them that I decided to do a “Baltimore Eats” segment on the first and third Thursday of each month. I hope those of you in Baltimore will help me by suggesting new restaurants you think I should try!

Pub Dog:

Last week I wanted a low key, close to home, late dinner with my best friend Byrd. I suggested Pub Dog after deciding that I reallllly wanted pizza, plus their drink specials were great (2 for $4.50). Byrd had been there before, but only for drinks, so it was fun for both of us to try a new place.

Pub Dog has three levels- first floor is the bar with a few tables in the back, and the second and third floor are additional tables. We chose to sit on the second level away from the noise. The ambiance was exactly what you would expect for a bar- dark and rustic. It might have been a little too dim for my taste but it was nice to just hang out and relax.

photo 1 (1)

I’m not much of an appetizer person but when I saw they had soft pretzels I wanted them immediately. I may or may not have chosen Pub Dog for the pretzels alone… They were super soft and I loved that the salt and mustard came on the side so you could add as little or as much as you like.

photo 2 (1)

The menu is simple but catchy with names like Old Yeller Pizza (Tomato Sauce, Mozzarella, Grilled Chicken, Smoked Bacon, Tomatoes, Red Onion and Spinach) and Dog Pound Pizza (Tomato Sauce, Mozzarella, Pepperoni, Sausage, Bacon, and Grilled Chicken). I got the cheesy dog pizza (plain jane, what can I say) but it was good! The pizza’s are 10″ personal pan which I liked. I am a picky eater and wanted Byrd to get something crazy if she wanted to, without my taste buds dragging her down. She got the Old Yeller Pizza I described above and it looked good:

photo 3 (1)

Overall I suggest Pub Dog if you are in Federal Hill for late night grub or when that pizza craving hits. Next time I want to do a full blown beer tasting, especially with the 2 for $4.50 deal!

Liv2Eat:

Last night S & I had date night and wanted to try something new. After hearing such good things about Liv2Eat from friends and co-workers I suggested it to him. I couldn’t figure out where this little restaurant was since the address didn’t seem to be right. Sure enough it was there, on a street I frequent almost daily and have never noticed. I love restaurants that are built into old row homes- the shop front window had shutters open to the street and each tiny table had a single candle centerpiece flickering in the dimly lit room. We walked in and chose to be seated in the back patio since its GORGEOUS. I mean where did fall go? It was 85 degrees yesterday! Anyway- there was a gorgeous terrace with white lights, candles on each table and a garden in the back. I couldn’t believe this place existed!

photo 4

The menu is simple but has solid meal options. There was something for everyone (you all know how picky I am!) with a couple fish options, tacos, a burger, so many options. S and I both got the Roseda Burger with House Sangria and Risotto Fritters to start. I’m kind of obsessed with everything that I consumed. I literally would come here once a week if my stomach and wallet could handle it.

I love that the Sangria didn’t have fruit in the carafe, it was in our wine glass and was gorgeous. I made S pour slowly so I could capture it all. Sorry for the dark photos! We were outside, at night, and the flash would have ruined the photo more than the dark grainy look.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

So about the food. It was amazing. The burger was seasoned perfectly, and moist which as I’ve mentioned before is hard to do since I eat my burgers well done. The home cooked fries were lightly salted and so good. Also- I’ve never had risotto before and was very nervous when the fritters were placed on our table. I have gotten better about trying new food but I still get a little anxious. Now I feel silly because that was hands down one of the best things I have ever eaten. I’m actually a little upset that I have gone 23 years of my life without risotto crossing my plate at some point. The fritters were delicious and will absolutely be a staple for the next visit.

photo 5

We were BEYOND stuffed with no room for dessert but I did peak to see what was on their menu- cookies & milk. I really thought I had read that wrong! They offer dark chocolate chip cookies baked to order with a tall glass of milk. I might as well move in. Love it!

If you are in Federal Hill and want a relaxed evening outside with some nice seafood or burgers, Liv2Eat is your place. But if you want good drink specials and some late night flavorful pizza, check out Pub Dog. Two completely different vibes, both wins in my book.

I’ll be back two weeks from now with another Baltimore Eats post!

2 thoughts on “Baltimore Eats: Pub Dog & Liv2Eat

  1. Hey Megan – cool articles! if you ever make your way over to Canton, you should try Annabell Lee’s and Verde. Two great places that seem to fit your style. Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

