Blogtember: Mistakes

Wednesday, September 25Write about a time you screwed up – a mistake you made. 

I make mistakes all the time, I’m not perfect, but it doesn’t mean that I don’t get upset with each mistake I make. I really do believe that we should learn from each mistake and they shouldn’t happen again. Being at a new job, I feel like I am bumbling around and making mistakes all the time. To others, I’m in the learning process and they aren’t mistakes, but lessons. Really how we interpret and move forward from these incidents defines what they really are. 

One mistake that I remember being incredibly awkward and embarrassing was when I was in 7th grade. I have never been very athletic but I wanted to play field hockey with my friends. After a rough 2 weeks of trying to teach me the game, I’m pretty sure the coach was more than happy when I informed her that I needed foot surgery and could no longer play. She offered me the position of team manager and asked that I keep score at games. I was so nervous (I still didn’t really understand how to play…yikes.) as I sat next to the manager for the opposing team at their field. I don’t remember the details but at some point I thought she was slacking on her position and reached across her to turn off her clock. I remember her staring at me like WHY DID YOU JUST DO THAT?! The game had to be paused and her coach never believed that a stranger would reach across her. I owned up to it and apologized, but I never saw another day of field hockey after that. 

I sometimes struggle with this as an adult- watching someone else not do their job correctly. I want to step in and take over but that’s not how it works. In the end it only makes both parties incredibly uncomfortable and even angry. LESSON LEARNED. 

 

Leave a Reply

