Blue Moon Cupcakes!

Cupcakes. There is nothing I love more than a tiny, yummy, cute cupcake. 

 I hadn’t baked cupcakes in a while and honestly I thought it was because they would be too much work for our small city kitchen. I decided to make them for work today since so many people are working from home and those who did come in had to deal with Grand Prix traffic and probably weren’t in the best of moods.

 I love to bake- correction I love to bake for OTHERS. This was my first time bringing goodies into the office and I wanted to make something different so I pulled out the Blue Moon Cupcake recipe that I had been hoarding for the last couple of months. Baking with beer is not something I would have predicted I would enjoy but I made beer bread last fall and it was SO GOOD. Now that I think about it, we used to make Coca-Cola Cake when I was younger and it’s the same idea, just replace the water with soda. I might need to make that again soon!

 Back to the cupcakes, they turned out so well that I now want to make cupcakes with every variety of alcohol. Jack Daniels cupcakes?  Ehhh..

 So my girl Brittany over at Brittany Herself was spot on with this recipe. The icing is a little less orangey than I would like but it might have overpowered the subtle beer taste in the cupcake so I’m ok with it.  I even made an icing bag out of a gallon Ziploc bag to make sure the cupcakes looked their very best!

 Walking to work this morning with a dozen cupcakes proved to be a little more difficult than I expected. Especially when I tripped crossing the Light St. intersection and almost dropped all dozen of the cupcakes…

 Between the facebook likes, Carissa’s batter tasting approval, texts asking if friends could come pick one up, and all the people who stared as I walked by on my way to work, I would say they were a hit! 

Image

Leave a Reply

