The Index Card Project

Image

 

I am a huge fan of keeping a record of what happens each and every day. Think about it, you only get ONE July 17, 2013, there is no reason it shouldn’t be a good one. In an effort to document my life I’ve attempted and miserably failed at a few simple projects.

My cousin David started a Photo 365 Challenge. I loved and STILL love this idea; however I failed miserably at it. The goal was to take ONE photo each day and to post it online with a caption so a year from now you could go back and see what your life was like. I made it about 3 weeks, stopped, started back up again for 5 days, stopped again, deleted the album. I am very proud of David for making it an entire year without missing a day.

I also clearly started my blog last year and took a very long hibernation from it. My fingers are crossed that I don’t do it again!

The point is, I found a project that I’ve stuck with and really enjoy! I have one index card for each day of the year. On the lines of the index card I write the year and something that happened that day. The goal is five years from now I should be able to look at my July 17th index card and see what happened on that day in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2017. I started the project on January 1st so I haven’t repeated days yet but I’m excited for next year and the second cycle of this project.

Image

Recently I sat down and read each card from the beginning until the present. It’s incredible to think about how much has changed in the past seven months. So much has happened; I can’t believe that this was all in the same year. We are only halfway through 2013 and I’m not sure what else can happen in this year that hasn’t already!

I’ve learned a lot about myself and the type of people that I have surrounded myself with. I’ve learned about my relationship flaws and how I interact with others.. I’ve also learned that I have some incredible people in my life that would do anything for me.

Since graduating college over a year ago, it has been a roller coaster learning how to live on my own, adapt to a new city, be financially independent, and work towards enhancing my career. I am proud of the way I have handled myself and the lessons I have learned since graduating. I’ve never been more uncertain of my future or where I’ll be in five years, but I’ve also never been as happy and content with that uncertainty either. I feel like I am finally letting go of the tight grip I had on the expectations for my future. It’s good to have goals, but I’m letting life work in mysterious ways and going with the flow.

 

xoxo,

Megan

One thought on “The Index Card Project

  1. Pingback: Life Lately | Soup of the Day

Leave a Reply

