Whole New World

I remember starting my freshman year of college in 2008 and wanting it to go quickly. I went to college with my best friend and high school sweetheart. I didn’t have any other friends at school and was scared. However, that quickly changed and I wanted college to go on forever. I joined a sorority, dumped the boyfriend, and found a million more friends. I started to discuss what I wanted to do after college and although having a career excited me,  I didn’t want the fun to end. Never again would I be surrounded by all of my best friends going through the same things at the same time. It went by too fast.

I found myself sitting in my seat next to my friends wearing my cap and gown wanting to go back in time. I wasn’t ready for it all to end. I walked across the stage, received my fake diploma and sat back down knowing it was over. I was excited for the future though. I was lucky and had a job waiting for me; in fact I started 3 days after graduation. I’ll admit it has been tough transitioning. I don’t have nearly as many friends in the city as I did in Salisbury and actually doing work on Fridays is a huge shock, but its life.

“It’s about a girl who is on the cusp of becoming someone.. A girl who may not know what she wants right now, and she may not know who she is right now, but who deserves the chance to find out.”

 

Leave a Reply

