The power of a smell

It’s true that a smell can take you back to a single moment in time within seconds. There are a few scents that evoke strong memories. A few of those scents are pine needles, sunscreen and cinnamon. 

Pine needles remind me of Trap Pond and the countless camping trips we took as a family over my childhood. Whether we were camping for the weekend with my cousins or visiting for the afternoon to go out on the water in kayaks, it was always a good time. The crunch of leaves under my feet, crackle and smell of campfire and chilly October nights fill my childhood.

The smell of cinnamon reminds me of the two traditions in our family of homemade applesauce and cinnamon streusel cake. Yum!

Summer days are what I think of when I smell sunscreen. Lathering up and soaking up sun is one of my favorite things to do in the summer. Sunscreen is one of the memory evoking scents in my life. One whiff of the coconut scent and I’m taken back to days on the beach

Leave a Reply

