The Beauty of Passing

What is the hardest experience you’ve had to endure?

I think the hardest thing most people can experience is the death of a loved one. I’ll spare you all the emotional details but the two major people I have lost were my grandmother and my best friend in middle school.

Patrick committed suicide at the age of 13. Ever since that day, I have been a strong advocate for suicide prevention and awareness. He was an incredible young man and I think about him every day, wondering where he would be in life and what our friendship would be like as well.

My grandmother passed away in 2009. As hard as death is to endure, her passing was the most beautiful thing I’ve ever experienced. The entire family was there, something that most people are not lucky enough to have. She was the strongest woman I knew and is greatly missed every single day.

Life’s lessons and experiences help to guide us in our own journey through life. Death helps me remember that each day is precious. You only get one chance at that day, live it up and experience all you can. Spend time with the people you love and make sure they know each and every day how you feel about them. That is one thing I can say I have always done, let those around me know where they stand. Sometimes the expression of my feelings has left me rejected and awkward but I never want to regret not doing something or telling someone how I feel. I’d rather regret doing something than never knowing. Find the beauty in every experience and hardship you face because I promise you hidden somewhere in the turmoil is a reason to be thankful it happened. 

Leave a Reply

