Sweet 16 Lessons

10 Things I Would Tell My 16 Year Old Self… I wish someone had sat me down and told me the things I know now. Actually, no, I’m glad I learned lessons and everything happens for a reason but in the moment some of those lessons didn’t feel worth it. I was in an unhealthy relationship that lasted for 5 years, but I learned a lot about myself and the type of person I do and do not see myself being with for the long run. I was not outgoing and carefree like I am now. Anyone who is in my life now, knows if there is a dance floor anywhere around I will be the first one on it and I won’t care what anyone thinks of my dancing. In high school, I was cast in the school play and then decided I was too scared to even stand in front of people so I was cast in a smaller role. I regret that now and wish I had owned it on the stage for everyone to see, but its part of growing up I guess. 

If I could sit down with my 16 year old self these are the things I would say:

  1. Be who you want to be, not a carbon copy of the “cool girls”
  2. The boy you love will hurt you in the end, don’t plan a future with someone who doesn’t plan to include you in theirs
  3. Be proud of yourself for not caving to peer pressure, it’s hard to say no.
  4. Speak up and let your voice be heard. Do not be afraid of judgement
  5. The boy who told you he wants to be with you, the one you have considered your best friend since the age of 8, take a chance on him. It’ll be your biggest regret if you don’t
  6. Listen to your Mom more, she knows what she’s talking about
  7. Don’t be scared to get on stage in the play, get up there and OWN it.
  8. Study more
  9. Spend more time with your grandmother, she will be gone before you know it.
  10. When choosing between family and friends, always choose family. They will be with you forever, the kids at school will not

 

Image

16 year old me

One thought on “Sweet 16 Lessons

  1. Megz! I love this. I find myself constantly thinking about the transitioning change that has happened in what seems like such a short time. Can you imagine what experiences we will look back on when were 30? Or 40? Its crazy to think. Im proud to be able to call you my cousin, and its good to know that lm not the only on experiencing adulthood with a smack in the face of reality. Keep on doing you girl! 🙂

Leave a Reply

