The House That Built Me

Day 3: Describe your relationship with your parents

I’ve found that I love my parents more and more the older I get. I’m finally understanding what they have sacrificed and done so I could have a happy and easy childhood into young adulthood. Because of my parents I have held after school jobs to teach me the value of money, I have been on multiple cruises and travelled in Europe, I have felt the love of family every single day and I have never been discouraged from trying anything that peeked my interest.

They raised me knowing that I needed to be independent and self sufficient, but that they would be there if ever I fell. I grew up wanting to make my own money and spend my own earnings as opposed to asking them for help. Graduating college and moving into a new city they helped me along the way and I will always be grateful for that. However, since moving in I have been self sufficient (for the most part, I’m still on their cell phone plan) and I am proud of myself for being able to survive away from home.

My parents and I talk daily, see each other as often as we can and make an effort to make sure the love is felt within our family. I couldn’t ask for a better set of parents and consider myself so blessed to have them in my life. 

One thought on “The House That Built Me

  1. Pingback: The Thankful Project: The House That Built Me | Soup of the Day

Leave a Reply

