RUN FOR YOUR LIVES!

This past week I was in Minnesota for work prepping for my first race with Reed Street Productions and Run For Your Lives. I was nervous to be flying, nervous to be with the people who I had only been working with for four days, nervous to see what kind of physical labor I would be doing and nervous for being gone for 7 days. Those fears were quickly gone and I had the best week ever!

This race was amazing because the course was amazing. We were at the Spring Creek MX Park in Millville Minnesota which is the #1 Nationally Ranked MX track. Here is the website if you want to check it out http://www.springcreekmx.com/sponsors.asp The views from the top of the track were gorgeous. Runners were able to run through so many different elements with this course which was what made it unique. They were running up the side of a hill, running along cliffs, running through a creek and climbing up a ladder obstacle at the water, running through tall grass, etc. It was pretty spectacular. 

It was great to see the entire set up of such a great event from start to finish,especially something that I’ve been a fan of. I learned a couple things this week: I am stronger than I ever thought I was (emotionally and physically), I can be open to trying new things and not be so fearful, I always have people around me that support me no matter what. Growing up with such strong male influences, I was not forced to do anything I did not want to do. I was the only girl in the family so when we all played baseball, they would let me hit the ball and then sit back down because I didn’t want to run the bases, and when we did archery they would give me extra pointers and tips. I had no idea that I could carry a 50 lb sand bag, let alone moving 15 in one day. I had no idea that I could drive a gator or an ATV and actually go fast. I had no idea I could set up HUGE banners, hammer stakes into the ground and carry gallons and gallons of water in jugs. Let’s just say, I will have some serious upper body strength after I get a few races under my belt. I bonded quickly with my co-workers and can’t believe that I’ve only been with the company for 2 weeks. They feel like lifelong friends and I am so thankful for that. 

Overall, I had a great week. It’s good to be home though and to get back into a somewhat normal routine. I did receive some sad news today when I got home. My childhood cat got very ill and my parents had to put her to sleep last week. They wanted to wait until I was home to tell me and I am very appreciative for that. 

Well, I’m home for 2 weeks then its off to Indy! This race is special because my team is coordinating it! I can’t wait to see what Indy has in store for me. I hope everyone had a great weekend 🙂

 

xoxo Meg

 

 

One thought on “RUN FOR YOUR LIVES!

Leave a Reply

